Goldex

Durham Region Field Naturalists © 2018 UPDATED FEBRUARY 15, 2018

UPCOMING OUTINGS

Note: In the event of a forecast of bad weather, an email will be sent to the DRFN distribution list the evening before a trip, with trip cancellation or re-scheduling information. If you are not on the list, you may check the DRFN website or call the outing leader.

To find out about upcoming outings for Pickering Naturalists, check their website: www.pickeringnaturalists.org

Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 10:00 AM (note: rescheduled)

Casual Winter Bird Walk

Weather permitting, we’ll walk the feeder trail and Lynde Shores and may take a short drive to see other winter visitors.

Meet at the parking lot of Lynde Shores Conservation Area, 1285 Victoria Street West in Whitby. Parking charges apply.

If you’re inclined, bring some seed or nuts for our feathered friends.

Difficulty: Easy walking.

Dress for the weather conditions

Saturday, March 03, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Leslie Street Spit / Tommy Thompson Park

The Spit is a man-made oasis in an urban desert. We’ll walk the 5-km length in search of winter birds. Raptors, finches, sparrows and diving ducks are usually seen.

Don Docherty will lead.

Meet to car pool at 9:00 AM at the old GO Station parking lot off Simcoe Street South near the Highway 401 on-ramp. Parking is available at the side farthest from the street. (Don will be at the parking lot at the Spit at 10 AM. Take Lakeshore Boulevard to Leslie Street and drive south to the gate.)

Dress to keep warm. There is no shelter available. In the event of extreme cold, we will limit our walking to the foot of the spit and drive to some accessible locations for bird viewing.

There will be extensive walking. Wear appropriate footwear.

Bring a lunch. No food or drink will be available.

Past Outings

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Durham Christmas Bird Count.

Saturday, January 06, 2017 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, November 26, 2017 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Sunday, November 05, 2017 at 10 AM

Lake Ontario Marshes

Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 10:00 AM

Heber Downs Mushroom Walk

Monday, July 03, 2017 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Enniskillen Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, August 26, 2017 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature Walk with Don Docherty

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 5:30 PM

Carden Alvar with Otto Peter

DRFN Annual Weekend Outing

June 9-11: 2017

Saturday, May 27,2017 10:00 AM

Rossland Road Butterfly Garden:

Spring Clean-up and Maintenance

Sunday, May 14,2017 10:00 AM

Clements Woods: Wildflowers

Saturday, April 22, 9:00 AM

Thickson’s Woods: Spring Nature Walk and Garlic Mustard Removal

Saturday, March 25 at 9:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park: Waterfowl

Saturday, February 25: 10:00 AM-noon

How to know a Tree when there are no leaves.

Saturday, January 14, 2017, 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour

and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Durham Christmas Bird Count

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS

"conservation through education"